top of page
Kenzie McCormick

My Top Reads from 2022

In 2022 I read about fifty books, which is a personal record! I read different genres from mystery and crime to fantasy and romance. I picked my top five from the past year. All these books are diverse and ones I recommend you read!

My first favorite book of 2022 is Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens. The genres for the book are mystery, historical fiction, and coming of age. This book was published on August 18th, 2018. Ever since its release, the book gained popularity with readers of all ages, remaining on the New York Times Bestselling list for over 150 weeks, selling over 15 million copies. A movie adaptation was released on July 15th, 2022, which made it even more popular. The book is set in coastal North Carolina during 1953 and follows two timelines that eventually interlink. The first timeline follows a young girl named Kya. Kya grows up in the marsh, poor and without parents. The second timeline is about the mysterious murder of the popular Chase Andrews.

I really loved this book and its characters. Owens’ writing and use of figurative language is well done. The book has a good balance between both timelines and eventually ties them together. Each chapter is set at a different time, which keeps the reader interested. The ending of the book gave me chills and was presented in such a great way. If I could describe this book in one word, it would be “beautiful”. I really recommend this book to any young adult readers. I gave this book five out of five stars.

My second favorite read of 2022 is The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy. This series is written by popular author Jenny Han and has become a favorite for high school students. Han has also written the To All the Boys I Loved Before series, which was turned into a Netflix original movie. Recently The Summer I Turned Pretty was turned into a series on Prime Video. The series follows teenager Isabel (Belly) Conklin. Each year Isabel goes back to Cousins Beach with her mom and brother and stays with the Fisher family. This year, Isabel is caught in a love triangle with Conrad and Jeremiah Fisher.

I really loved how Han was able to make this a good series. Most of the time when I read a series, I find that the first book should be the only book. A series, let alone a trilogy, is hard to write. Authors have to keep readers interested and engaged. Yet, I was hooked on this series. Each book gave just enough information to keep the reader fulfilled and wanting more at the same time. I read all three books in the span of a month. I really enjoyed the depth that all the characters had and how Belly has multiple problems in her life, not just the boys. Overall, I give the series four and a half stars out of five.

The third book on my favorites list is The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. This book sparked in popularity in early 2022. The book follows genres of historical fiction, fantasy, and mythology. I read the book because a friend recommended it to me. The book is a retelling of one of many Achilles' stories and is from Patroculus’ point of view. The story ranges from when Achillies and Patriculus were children to the end of the Trojan war.

I really loved the range this book had. It had multiple themes such as trust, friendship, romance, and sacrifice. The writing and personification in this book are highlights as well. I recommend this book to all readers, especially mythology fans, due to the range it has. Overall four and a half stars out of five.

My fourth book on the list is Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. This book is a classic science fiction, dystopian, and political fiction novel. I read this book in ELA class and finished it within a month. The story is set in a dystopian future where books are banned and any are burned by the firefighters. The main character, firefighter Guy Montag, starts to question the books’ importance and if he should be destroying them.

I love this book and I believe it is very important. It can show what could happen if we let technology take over and stop educating ourselves. It can also demonstrate an abuse of power and a controlling government. Bradbury created a message in 1952 that still applies in the present. The book also tells the story of change and the impact people can make. Overall, four and a half stars out of five.

My last book is The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. This historical fiction book follows the story of Liesel while Death narrates during the Holocaust. Lisel is a young orphan girl who is being fostered by a German family hiding a Jewish man. During a time of book burning and hatred, Lisel finds a love for books and meets new friends.

I really enjoyed this book and thought it was unique that it was narrated by Death. Also, I like how most of the main characters weren't Jewish themselves, but helping people who were. I feel it gives a different perspective when talking about the Holocaust, which is important and spreads awareness about how many different people were affected by it. The book also has a lot of symbolism, mainly with colors. This book is a read that you can really dissect and look for the little details. It makes the book even better and more interesting. Overall, five out of five stars.


Comments


bottom of page